Skip to content

Organically Running

June 14, 2010

Before I became a yoga instructor, I used to run a whole lot. I would run all over San Diego’s beaches, trails and parks. I ran because I loved to feel the earth beneath each step and I reveled in the sensation of wind cooling off my warm, sweaty skin. Running would take me to a state of union of body and mind–a state that I would now call meditation. After a quick search, I found these (very) old pictures of me running for Ursuline High School’s X-C Team.

Sprinting toward the finish!

Man, I look exhausted! These days, I run much slower and much less frequently. But these pictures were just to lure you in–my whole reason for posting this was to get around to my main topic–organic food. Here’s the connection: I was reading Runner’s World magazine yesterday, and I came across a great article on organic produce. The full article can be found here. As you may know, there are certain fruits and veggies that absorb more pesticides than others–and therefore certain foods that you should always buy organic. These are: peaches, apples, bell peppers, celery, nectarines, strawberries, cherries, kale, lettuces, grapes, carrots and pears. Why not write this list down and carry it shopping with you? Your body and the earth will appreciate you efforts. Also, bring your own bags to the supermarket. Although by now, that’s a given, right?! 😉

Om Shanti,
z

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

