Skip to content

Parlez vous Francais?

December 8, 2010

No. I don’t. But that’s not going to stop me from trying….

After years of dreaming and months of saving, I am so grateful to be embarking on a trip to indulge all my traveling desires–I’m going to France! The planning began a few months ago when I joined an organization that places interested workers with organic farmers interested in sharing their knowledge and skills (click here for more info). There were so many amazing farms to choose from! Eventually I decided to stay at Château Anand, in the town of Saint Pierre de Maille.

“Welcome to our beautiful pink castle “Chateau Anand” on 37 acres of hilly oak and pine forests. Enjoy our river, walking paths in the woods, sauna, beautiful surroundings of amazing french villages with their special atmosphere and cosy traditions… share yoga, meditation, bonfire, swimming, musik, healthy yummy vegetarian food, good mood and much more! Learn how to create beautiful landscape, do some planting or take care of plants, how to conduct small building projects with our professional staff, help with cooking, painting and much more… We are looking for people willing and happy to learn, willing and happy to work, willing and happy to share. Positive attitude essential! See you soon ! We speak french, english and german.”

How could I say no? …….Afterall, no is one of the only words I CAN say in French! 🙂 If you have any contacts, advice or virtual hugs, feel free to share them in the comments.

Au Revoir,
z

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 6:10 pm

    Zoe! This is incredible. I think it is a fabulous plan. When I moved from Chicago a year ago I contemplated teaching english in Thailand, becoming an au pair, working on a boat, and god knows what else. I am surprised I never considered something like this! Somehow I ended up in San Diego… not quite sure how it happened but I am glad it did. Adventures are the best! You are going to meet such neat people and hello! you’ll be in France! I LOVE France!

    I hope you find a way to blog and let us all know how you’re doing and what cool stuff you’re learning about organic farming and what-not. Can’t wait to live vicariously through you. 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:39 am

    well dang it! I’ll just have to imagine a “virtual adjustment” from you during my savasanas for awhile. This sounds like such a great adventure and the pink castle looks ridiculously precious. I’ve been France; a couple days in Paris and in Annecy (near Geneva-freaking cold but gorgeous). You’ll eat like kings and queens-un croissant et un grande creme(a latte i think) pour petit dejeuner (breakie)

    I will miss your classes… you are one of my favorite teachers; have fun!!

  3. December 15, 2010 11:10 pm

    hey you
    so here are the names i can remember of the people that i stayed with, as promised.
    mark and judy davis…in a town near le mans…highly recommended.
    anne and pierre magnani…i canNOT believe i just remembered their last name.
    the third place i wouldn’t really recommend. it was in the region of correze and the girl’s name was cecile.
    thanks so much for coming by tonight to say goodbye.
    can’t wait to hear your adventures as they spin out…

  4. Lauren permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:22 pm

    Dear Zoe,

    My sister and I are planning our own wwoofing adventures this summer, and we are also looking at the Château Anand. I was just wondering if you ended up woofing there, and if so was it a good place to do so?

    Thanks,
    Lauren (another little yogi)

    • zoe permalink*
      May 9, 2011 6:04 am

      Hey Lauren!

      Chateau Anand was not able to receive me on their farm because of some renovations that they were making to the woofer room. But I stayed at Le Baumas, a farm in Ardeche, and I can highly recommend a visit there!

      Zoe

Leave a Reply

