Skip to content

Departing /Or/ A sturdy tree, dancing in the wind

June 2, 2011

After teaching a yoga class several months ago (right before I embarked on my nine weeks of solo traveling through France and Spain) a beloved student of mine approached me with a huge hug. He was feeling inspired by my declaration of departure, and commented on the inner strength that I must have possessed in order to make such daring plans. The words that I spoke to him came from a source of strength that even I had not known.

I looked him dead in the eyes and declared: “True, all that lays before me is uncertain. And yes, I could definitely feel scared about that. But I made the decision to leave because I actively listen to my intuition and I refuse to make decisions based on fear.”

I surprised myself that day, as I had drawn from a source of wisdom that went far beyond my mind energy and even deeper than my heart space.  And it is with that same divine inspiration that I look forward into the next bend in my path.

I have so much gratitude and warmth in my heart for the communities that have nourished and sustained me here in San Diego. It is with deep respect for them that I have made my decision to depart for Portland, OR on June 15th. My intention upon arrival is to create abundance for myself using my skills of yoga, farming, photography, music and barista-ing! 

Here I would like to take a moment to thank my greatest inspirations

To Pilgrimage of the Heart: You took a chance on this little yogini, and opened up a world of possibilities for me. Because of you, I have been able to meet a tremendous group of conscious teachers and practitioners, some of whom I know will be in my life forever. Thank you.

To Bird Rock Yoga: You put the pizzaz back in my yoga, just as I was starting to crave a little spice in my life! I owe much of my vinyasa practice to your welcoming community, and I have always felt deep appreciation from your yogis and yoginis for what I brought to share with my classes. Heather, the owner of BRY, has supported me in my travels and in my SD residency, even allowing me to create brand new classes to add to the studio’s offerings. I am so grateful. Thank you.

To Influx: You are so cool. And so delicious. The memories that I have from my four years of coffee-slinging are some of my favorite SD memories. Throughout the years, I have blurred the lines of  hip-pie and hip-ster, what with my flowery headbands and high-waisted black skirts. Whatever the label, I have worn my Influx Barista personae with pride, and I am blessed that kept me on the schedule, even though my availability has wavered considerably in my time with you. Thank you. I will miss the hell out of you. Yes, even in Portland.

To Hale Holistic: I have never resonated more deeply with a yoga space or a yoga crew than I have at HH. What you, as a studio, offer to the community goes beyond a good yoga class and into an offering of deeper consciousness and wellness training. You ask so little (free first week, free green smoothie, $10 drop in) for your tremendous offerings, and you do it with pure anahata intention. It’s not over between us. Our intentions here are too parallel to let something like distance truly separate us. I am blessed. Thank you.

To Hiking Yoga: Somehow I tricked you into paying me for walking around in nature and doing yoga. For a little wilderness lady like myself, its truly a dream come true. And even though our time in San Diego together has been short, I am so blessed to be invited to be on your Portland team. To already have one reliable source of income upon arrival has reassured me in my own abundance. Thank you.

To all my family, all my friends, and all those who blur the line of family and friend: Whether you know me as Kelly or as Zoe, I hope that you know how much you have given to me. I have learned so much from you and I carry pieces of inspiration that you have shared with me on my journey. Please keep in touch!! I value you too much to lose you to distance. Email me anytime at zoeyogini@gmail.com or call/text me at 707-849-9974. You will never truly know the impact that you have had, but I hope that through knowing me, that you have received in equal parts to what you have given. I love you. Thank you.

The past three months have brought tremendous growth to this little yogini, and the reverberations of worldly travels will likely be felt for years to come. Hale Holistic and I are planning a going-away party slash music night at the studio, let me know your interest and I will update you as plans reach finalization. My departure date, again, is Wednesday June 15th. I hope to see you and hug you before then.

The Tallest Man, once again expressing for me all those emotions that are best put in song:

Shanti,
z

[First and third photo taken by me, second photo taken by Kirk Hensler. Props.]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. erin permalink
    June 3, 2011 10:12 am

    ooooooooo!!! SO EXCITED for you! I lived in Portland many years ago and I gotta say you will fit right in! I have SO loved your classes-they’re filled with love, tlc, and intention. You inspire me to be a great teacher. btw, my sister and I go the the Influx in Little Italy every weekend-we are in love with le croissants-tre bien.

    with love and gratitude

    erin

    • zoe permalink*
      June 3, 2011 2:25 pm

      Thanks Erin! It has been so lovely to see your personal practice progress and your light grow ever more radiant. And yes, the croissants at Influx are kinda ridiculously delicious. Imagine trying to stick to ‘health food’ while working there. Yeah right. I totally dive in to the flaky, butteryness!! Sending so much love your way!

      Until our journeys wind us back together,
      Zoe

  2. jan permalink
    June 8, 2011 3:52 pm

    soooooo happy for you zoe! Your post explained it beautifully and your journey continues…on to a new place, new people and experiences. How exciting! I will miss you but your spirit and kindness remain with me. That’s the gift of yoga for each of us, connection. I wish you much joy and happiness and hope you keep your blog going so we can stay in touch.

    Much love and light,

    Jan

Leave a Reply

